## TRANSPORTATION POLICY BOARD

## **MEETING MINUTES**

Of October 20, 2023

<u>Call to Order:</u> TPB Chair Ricardo Samaniego called the Transportation Policy Board (TPB) meeting to order at 9:41 a.m. at the Blue Flame Building, 17th Floor (Center for Community Engagement), 304 Texas Avenue, El Paso, TX 79901, and also conducted the meeting telephonically and by video conference. TPB Member attendance was as follows:

MEMBERS PRESENT	TITLES	MEMBERS ABSENT	TITLES
Oscar Leeser (Vice-Chair)	Mayor, City of El Paso	Joseph Cervantes	NM State Senator, District 31
2. Iliana Holguin	El Paso County Commissioner, Precinct 3	Claudia Ordaz	TX State Representative – 76th District
3. Joe Moody	TX State Representative – 78th District	Mo Moabed	County Commissioner, Doña Ana County
4. Lina Ortega	TX State Representative – 77 <sup>th</sup> District	Sam Rodriguez	Director of Aviation, El Paso International Airport
5. Chris Canales	City of El Paso Representative – District 8	Anthony Turner	Mayor, Town of Anthony, TX
6. Walter Miller	Alderman 1, Town of Horizon City	Ramon Cano	Mayor, Town of Clint
7. Tomas Trevino	District Engineer, TXDOT El Paso District	Cary Westin	City Manager, City of El Paso
8. Yvette Hernandez	City Engineer, COEP	Eddie Morales	TX State Representative – 74th District
9. Mary E. Gonzalez	TX State Representative – 75th District	Willie Madrid	NM State Representative District 53
10. Ellen Smyth	Director, Mass Transit-Sun Metro	Diana Murillo	Mayor, Anthony, NM
11. Cesar Blanco	TX State Senator		
12. Javier Perea	Mayor, Sunland Park, NM		
13. Aaron Chavarria	District Engineer, NMDOT		
14. Ricardo Samaniego (Chair)	Judge, El Paso County		
15. Isela Reyes	Mayor, City of San Elizario, TX		
16. Rudy Cruz	City of Socorro, District 3 Representative	MPO STAFF	
17. Norma Palacios	Assistant Public Works Director, El Paso County	Sergio Estrada	MPO/TPB Attorney
18. Rachel Quintana	Mayor, Village of Vinton	Eduardo Calvo	Executive Director
19. Cassandra Hernandez	City of El Paso Representative – District 3	Harrison Plourde	Assistant Director
20. Isabel Salcido	City of El Paso Representative - District 5	Gerardo Fierro	Associate Regional Transportation Analyst
21.		Sonia Perez	Regional Transportation Planner
22.		Marisol Enriquez	Administrative Secretary
23.		Anne Guayante	Regional Transportation Manager
1	1	11	

(Meeting began with 18 members)

• No Public Comment: No member of the public signed up for Initial Public Comment

## **DISCUSSION AND ACTION:**

1. Consider approval of the minutes of the September 22, 2023 TPB meeting.

Presenter: TPB Chair

Motion to approve the minutes of the September 22, 2023, EPMPO TPB meeting made by Alderman Walter Miller and seconded by Commissioner Iliana Holguin. Motion passed unanimously.

 Consider authorizing the Executive Director to submit a comment to the Texas Department of Transportation regarding the proposed revisions to the Texas Administrative Code that would allow TxDOT to redistribute funding allocations of Categories 5 and 7 due to significant carryovers

Presenter: Eduardo Calvo (MPO Executive Director)

- Lina Ortega commented
- Cesar Blanco commented
- Tomas Trevino commented
- Oscar Leeser commented
- Walter Miller commented
- Ellen Smyth commented
- Cassandra Hernandez commented
- Yvette Hernandez commented
- Chris Canales commented
- Claudia Ordaz commented

Motion to authorize the Executive Director to submit a comment to the Texas Department of Transportation regarding the proposed revisions to the Texas Administrative Code that would allow TxDOT to redistribute funding allocations of Categories 5 and 7 due to significant carryovers with the direction given by TPB members and subject to TPB Chair approval made by Representative Cassandra Hernandez and seconded by Representative Lina Ortega. Tomas Trevino abstained.

3. Consider authorizing the Executive Director to sign a Letter of Support for the El Paso County application to the United States Economic Development Administration (EDA) FY 2023 Disaster Grant for the design and construction phase of the Paso Del Norte PDN trail project (Mission Valley)

Presenter: Daniel Marquez (El Paso County)

Motion to authorize the Executive Director to sign a Letter of Support for the El Paso County application to the United States Economic Development Administration (EDA) FY 2023 Disaster Grant for the design and construction phase of the Paso Del Norte PDN trail project (Mission Valley) made by Commissioner Iliana Holguin and seconded by Representative Cassandra Hernandez. Motion passed unanimously

4. Consider adopting the proposed 2024 TPB meeting schedule.

Presenter: Harrison Plourde (MPO)

Ellen Smyth commented

Motion to adopt the proposed 2024 TPB meeting schedule made by Ellen Smyth and seconded by Mayor Javier Perea. Motion passed unanimously.

## . REPORTS AND DISCUSSION:

TxDOT Statewide Active Transportation Plan (SATP)
 Presenter: Brent Crowther (Kimley-Horn for TxDOT)

6. NMDOT Carbon Reduction Strategy Draft Presenter: Anne Guayante (MPO)

7. RMS 2020 Project Status Report Presenter: Anne Guayante (MPO)

- 8. Executive Director's Report
  - a. International Border Crossings Wait Times
  - b. FYs 2025-2028 TIP Development Update
  - c. MPO Office Upgrades
  - d. AMPO Annual Conference

**Presenter: Eduardo Calvo (MPO Executive Director)** 

- Ricardo Samaniego commented
- Oscar Leeser commented

- Iliana Holguin commented
- Cesar Blanco commented

The **next meeting** of the TPB is scheduled for <u>9:00 a.m.</u> on <u>November 17, 2023,</u> at the at Blue Flame Building, Floor 17 (Center for Community Engagement), 304 Texas Ave, El Paso, TX 79901

9. Adjournment. **Adjournment at 11:35 a.m.** 

Approved as to content:

Marisol Enriquez, Recording Secretary of the

Transportation Policy Board for the El Paso MPO Study Area